Stone of Farewell by Tad Williams  » Books  »
1 votes
Are you familiar with this?
Feel free to rate it!

    • by booklover

      all reviews
      Stone of Farewell by Tad Williams is the second novel in his trilogy Memory, Sorrow and Thorn. The story opens with things looking bleak for our heroes, as the immortal allies of King Elias have destroyed the fortress of Prince Joshua and slaughtered its inhabitants, with the exception of the Prince and a few of

      his followers who are desperately fleeing the evil horde.

      Meanwhile, Simon and his companions are imprisoned by the Trolls, who are threatening to execute Binabik, his Trollish friend, and the Rimmersman who accompanied him.

      The Stone of Farewell begins, as many middle frames do, with things looking as bleak as possible.

      But some ...

      • successes will begin to come, as the forces of good will begin to marshal against the evil that is sweeping Osten Ard.

        Stone of Farewell is an excellent novel.

        Despite being a middle installment, it feels complete - the action begins and ends in logical places, and the pace is solid throughout.


        characters are further developed, and not just in the sense that Simon and Miriamele are growing up and maturing.

        There in also an increased focus on characters like Prince Joshua and his lady Vorzheva, Isgrimmer, lord of the Rimmersman, and the remaining members and associates of the League of the Scroll - Geloe, Tiamak, Father Strangyeard et al.

    • Don't Be Nice. Be Helpful.

    The review was published as it's written by reviewer in September, 2007. The reviewer certified that no compensation was received from the reviewed item producer, trademark owner or any other institution, related with the item reviewed. The site is not responsible for the mistakes made. 171209213980530/k2311a0912/9.12.07
    Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms & Conditions
    Privacy Policy